Germany Post #6: UPDATED NOV 20TH. Vehicles in Germany

The reason why that interests me is because the kind of vehicles you see around you can tell you whether or not you are in the states. If the cars all look familiar, you’re most likely in the states or Canada. If you think that a vehicle looks odd, or there are lots of vehicles with very different looks, then you are somewhere else. Here, on the road, there is a theme of efficiency, compactness, windows and visibility, diesel engines and unfamiliar symbols on the cars. It’s basically nothing like what I am used to seeing the states. It’s fun and different. I will post some more different car things soon once  I get more photos.

Below are some fun vehicles i snapped photos of.

This police

This police car is a diesel VW turbo wagon. I did see some Mercedes and Ford police vehicles, too. They all look super… European. img_0543

This van in Münster is a Ford Tourneo diesel van. Definitely not found in the US. The US loooooves mini vans instead (gag puke gag  gag). img_0852

These are the Pizza Hut delivery vehicles. We saw these in Cologne. They kick butt and you see them everywhere. img_0818

Pizza Patrón delivery. I don’t know why it’s funny. I associate Patrón with tequila, not with Pizza and especially not with Germany. That would be like having a place called Gelato Budweiser. They don’t necessarily pair well, nor do they have culturally much to do with one another, but you wouldn’t object to the combination, either.img_0851I mostly saw the delivery scooters in Freiburg, Münster, Cologne  and Berlin. I saw them driving around the cobblestone streets and through the alleys. Dominos had scooters everywhere, but I never saw them parked.

img_0928It’s a freegin Nissan and it’s from space and fly’s to space. Obviously. I’d drive that, too. It’s the ‘musician with lots of gear’ in me that makes me want to drive a non-sporty, roomy vehicle that looks so weird. I like all the windows.

I saw very few Chevy’s in Germany. I saw a Chevy truck with four tires in the rear and two in the front while I was in Munich.  But, this Chevy Motiz, seen below, is the coolest Chevy I can imagine. You can park this thing anywhere!img_0560

Here is a Skoda Rapio I saw in Dachau. It looks kind of average, but… what the heck is a Skoda?!? Skoda’s are everywhere. They are wagons, sedans and hatches and SUV’s. img_0549

This is a Fiat. I want this Fiat. I love the windows, the room and the visibility and the fact that it’s a diesel. I can’t buy one here in the states, but if I ever move to Europe.. picture me rollin’. img_0695

I did not see many Suzukis. The ones I did see were in Bad Tölz. Lots of them in Bad Tölz and not very common anywhere else. This one looks super fun to drive and it had a diesel engine.img_0688

This is not a VW bus. This is a Mercedes bus of some kind. I have never seen one of these and love this era of European automobiles. img_0817

This is a VW Scirocco. These have not been made in the US in decades and they are not very common in Germany. They are kind of sporty and look like they are made to turn corners, quickly. The car in front of it is an Alfa Romeo Giuletta, also not likely found in the US. img_0941

Below is a Dacia something or other. Dacia is made in Romania. Their most famous car is the Dacia Duster, which is an SUV that looks ready to rumble. The Dacia below looks ready to take retiree’s to the buffet. img_0943

Below is a brand called Seat.  They tell me it’s pronounced “say yacht.”  Um, you and I both know it’s just a seat. So, take a seat in a Seat and view the sites.   img_0944

Ford Ka..  Uh, yes! These are common. They are super small with a huge window, so parking in tight spaces is no problem. But, check it out! It’s like a mini-Garth Mobile. Oh, in front of it is another Skoda. img_0947

Peugeot is still made in Europe. It’s very common. This one is super tiny and weird. When we were driving our Ford Siesta on the autobahns, The Peugeot’s, along with the BMW’s, Mercedes and VW’s would pass us at 120 mph while we were screaming at 90 mph. img_0948

This is a serious VW van. I don’t know what it was. I should point out that VW still makes new vans in Germany. They look like the Euro Van we had here, but newer. There’s one called the Multi Van and one called the California. I did not get pictures of them, but they looked very fun to drive. The van below also looks fun to drive. It needs a wash, though. img_0949

This is an old German fire fighting rig made by Mercedes. Someone keeps it in good condition and drives it around. It’s totally original and has a lot of comfy seating on the inside.img_0967

I don’t know what kind of vehicle this is. It had no name that I could see and it’s brand symbol was not one I recognized. I was in a hurry to catch a train so didn’t take a good picture of the symbol.img_0968

A Toyota Yaris with lots of room… That’s all. I don’t like the Yaris, but I did like this one.img_1018

This car is by the brand Renault. I don’t know much about that brand, but this particular model, like so many European cars, can be parked very easily. img_0991

This another Alfa Romeo. I think they are luxury cars like Mercedes and BMW. I’m not positive, though. img_1054

Above.. bicycles. It’s hard describe how many bicycles I saw in Freiburg and Münster. There were so many that I could not take pictures of every spot where I saw 500 hundred bikes just chilling there. That was at every other block or so. Everyone has bells so there’s no yelling “on your left/right” and every cyclist goes the correct way and stops at the stop lights. There stoplights specifically for bicycles and with as many bicycles on the road as there is, the stoplights are needed and used. I thought Eugene and Portland were bicycle friendly, but compared to what I’ve seen here, Oregon has just become acquaintances with bicycles. Also, everyone just leans their bikes against the walls, to props them up on kickstands next to the other millions of bikes. Some have locks, some don’t and out of the ones that do have locks, only some lock their bikes to a rack. The rest are just locked to themselves. Bike thieves are just not much of a thing here.

In my posts about Münster, you will see a zillion bicycles because you can’t get away from them.

Below is just a bunch of cool moments I captured involving scooters.

img_1168img_1169img_1146img_1162img_1077img_1078img_1079img_1067

img_0954

 

Enough about transportation things. I hope you enjoyed and I wish you all well.  Don’t get sick. Wash your hands. Be nice to each other.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

